Gliadin

Title: Gliadin
CAS Registry Number: 9007-90-3
Literature References: A simple protein, one of the prolamins, derived from the gluten of wheat, rye, etc. May contain up to 43% glutamine (C.A. 50, 15792a (1956)). Studies on the physical nature of gliadin: Holme, Briggs, Cereal Chem. 36, 321 (1959). Use of deamidized gliadin in food products: McDonald, US 3030211 (1962 to USDA).
Properties: Practically insol in water, abs alcohol, and other neutral solvents. Sol in 70-80% alcohol, dil acid, dil alkali.
Glibornuride Gliclazide Gliotoxin Glipizide Gliquidone

Gliadin is a class of proteins present in wheat and several other cereals within the grass genus Triticum. Gliadins and gluten are essential for giving bread the ability to rise properly during baking. Gliadins and glutenins are the two main components of the gluten fraction of the wheat seed. This gluten is found in products such as wheat. Gluten is split about evenly between the gliadins and glutenins, although there are variations found in different sources. Gliadin is the soluble aspect of it while glutenin is insoluble. There are three main types of gliadin (α, ϒ, and ω), to which the body is intolerant in coeliac (or celiac) disease. Diagnosis of this disease has recently been increasing. Gliadin has primarily monomeric proteins, which differs from glutenin, which has primarily polymers.[1]